Skip to content

february • green tea with honey

Tuesday, 8 February 2011

I am addicted to Arizona Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey. Especially since I’ve been cutting back on pop—I crave something sweet and caffeinated, and I figure tea with honey (and sugar; honey alone makes the taste kind of heavy) is better than…whatever it is in pop that makes it taste so good. (Because nothing that tastes that good can possibly be good for you…)

So I’ve been on something of a quest to make a brew that I like well enough to stop buying the Arizona tea by the case at Aldi. I feel like I’m cheating a little, counting this as February’s homemade challenge, because I’ve been trying and refining recipes I’ve found online for close to a year now, but since I can tell already that I’m not going to have time to figure out how to make yogurt this month, it’s going to have to do.

Here’s the recipe…

Steep 1 green tea bag in 2 cups boiling water for about an hour. Then add 6 tablespoons sugar, 2 tablespoons honey, 3 tablespoons lemon juice, and another 6 cups of water. (I heat the rest of the water before mixing to help with dissolving the sugar & honey.) You can add ginseng extract if you’d like, or just use green tea and ginseng tea bags. Or just go without, which is what I am doing at the moment because I’m more after the taste than the ginseng. Chill, drink, and enjoy.

It really is that simple. And I’m kind of embarrassed it took me so long to figure it out. But I’m pleased with the results.

Next month: yogurt. I promise.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, 8 February 2011 10:11 pm

    Yogurt is super easy, just make sure you put some hone in with it while it’s fermenting, because otherwise it will be SOUR.

    • Tuesday, 8 February 2011 10:14 pm

      How do you keep it at the right temperature for a gazillion hours? That’s the part that’s making me anxious – I’ve read a bunch of different suggestions & then a bunch of other comments about why the different suggestions don’t work, but I don’t know what actually *does* work.

Leave a Reply

