Skip to content

soakerpalooza

Thursday, 3 February 2011

I made six soakers and a pair of longies last month. (And a baby doll–sized soaker for the Baby Alive doll Julia got for Christmas.) I planned to make two pairs of longies, but as I was crocheting the waistband of Julia’s I realized that I am completely and totally sick of working the same pattern over and over. And I love that pattern (and also the Gillyweeds Bottoms Up pattern, which I’ve been using much longer). But it seems I am most definitely in a rut.

I made Julia a pair of longies last January, and that was the last thing I finished until after we moved here in October. I made the kids some hats and scarves and mittens for Christmas, and elf-colored soakers in green and red. Now that Asher is old enough to entertain himself a bit more—and big enough that I can let Julia play with him without worrying too much that she’s going to break him—I’m finding I have a little more free time, so I have some pretty ambitious plans for the coming months in preparation for next Christmas. I’m looking forward to flexing my creative muscles a bit; it feels like it’s been far too long.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, 3 February 2011 12:14 am

    I totally hear you. I keep alternating between 3 different patterns…and I really need something new to do.

    • Thursday, 3 February 2011 12:17 am

      I’m playing with the Dream Swatch pattern again. I did a modified version of it a few years ago, but one of the cats destroyed it. And I got some yummy yarn the other day so I figured I’d just dive in. It’s easy enough to sort of get myself back into knitting (it’s been a while) but complicated enough that I have to pay attention to what I’m doing. I’m starting a Xmas present for my brother in another week or so when the yarn for it arrives. 🙂

      • Thursday, 3 February 2011 12:58 am

        Very nice! I’ve been thinking of getting an overalls pattern, or making one myself, just to change things up a little. Plus I think overalls are adorable, and you can add little extras like pockets and buttons.

Leave a Reply

